My Clematis

I planted this clematis two years ago. It was about 15 inches high at the time. I didn’t know if a clematis could grow in this north-facing spot up against a wall. Clematis normally require full sun. A few varieties will do okay in less than full sun though. That’s what the experts say anyway, so I took a chance. What did I have to lose? A plant? The vine took off so fast this spring that it was sprawled all over the ground before I got a chance to train it to the trellis.

climatis2

I wanted a clematis with white flowers for this spot in particular because this little garden off to the side of my patio is where I put my deceased daughter’s cremated remains. I call it “Jackie’s Garden.” It’s a very pretty little garden, about 20 ft by 10 ft. It’s in some disarray right now, but some day I’ll be showing pictures of the entire garden. I’m so excited about this clematis though that I can’t wait to share it. I just wish my camera didn’t fall so short of really capturing the awesome beauty of these flowers.

climatis3

“I hope some day to meet God, because I want to thank Him for the flowers.” ~ Robert Brault

